Daily
  Go Back   AzBilliards.com > Products Talk > Cue Reviews
Reload this Page What to look for when buying a custom cue?
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Share Thread Tools Rate Thread
What to look for when buying a custom cue?
Old
  (#1)
uttrading
AzB Bronze Member
uttrading is on a distinguished road

vCash: 500

What to look for when buying a custom cue? - 07-10-2020, 01:11 AM

Hi,

I'm very new to the pool cue world, and I have some questions about custom cues.

I know playability is very subjective, so let's leave it aside first.

My question is purely on the appearance of the cues.

What's considered a good/great custom cue?

1. Sharp points?

2. As many points as possible?

3. Cue finishing, what type of finishing is consider top notch? Lacquer? CA?

4. Inlays. I know most inlays are done by CNC. And the value/material of the inlays vary a lot. So let's leave it aside first.

5. Hand made or CNC? Lot's of work is done on CNC, but isn't it like a competition of who's having the best CNC equipment and CAD skills?

6. What else?

Old
  (#2)
terpdad
Registered
terpdad has a reputation beyond reputeterpdad has a reputation beyond reputeterpdad has a reputation beyond reputeterpdad has a reputation beyond reputeterpdad has a reputation beyond reputeterpdad has a reputation beyond reputeterpdad has a reputation beyond reputeterpdad has a reputation beyond reputeterpdad has a reputation beyond reputeterpdad has a reputation beyond reputeterpdad has a reputation beyond repute

07-10-2020, 03:40 AM

Good Qs & I don't have all the answers but, in general, the more labor goes into something, the more the final price. Sharp points seem to be desirable. CNC can produce great results & shouldn't be dismissed. Just b/c a machine helped D/N mean the cue can't look & play well. Exotic woods drive up the price, too.

What to look for when buying a custom cue?
Old
  (#3)
ThinSlice
AzB Silver Member