new cue advice
Old
  (#1)
96burg10
AzB Bronze Member
96burg10 is on a distinguished road

vCash: 500

new cue advice - 04-25-2012, 11:41 AM

little background: i have been playing for about 10 years and for the first seven or so never really took it seriously. i played in some tournaments never really doing any better than 2-2. broke up with the now ex and started to really get back into the game and practicing my stroke, stance, aiming, just anything i could to do better. i started placing in some tournaments and did really well at the state tournament. i took last year off to help some friends out who were in need of a 5th for bowling and played enough pool to qualify for the state tourny and didnt do to bad.

now that the back story is done on to my question...i am looking at getting back into the game pretty hard and my girlfriend said she wanted to buy me a new cue for a present. i am thinking about getting an OB cue or something with a laminated shaft and maybe a layered tip. my question being, are those things worth spending the money and will they really improve my game? i know that is a hard question to answer since you would have to know how i play, but would the performance of the shaft along with the tip be a step in the right direction to improvement and would anyone have any advice on a shaft or a tip?

Old
  (#2)
poolguy4u
AzB Silver Member
poolguy4u has a reputation beyond reputepoolguy4u has a reputation beyond reputepoolguy4u has a reputation beyond reputepoolguy4u has a reputation beyond reputepoolguy4u has a reputation beyond reputepoolguy4u has a reputation beyond reputepoolguy4u has a reputation beyond reputepoolguy4u has a reputation beyond reputepoolguy4u has a reputation beyond reputepoolguy4u has a reputation beyond reputepoolguy4u has a reputation beyond repute

04-25-2012, 11:47 AM

Just depends on how much you want to spend. I like using a Meucci for 9-ball and 10-ball, but I like using a Joss to play straight pool.