Daily
  Go Back   AzBilliards.com > Instruction & Ask the pros > Ask The Instructor
Reload this Page Do you recommend to your students that they start with an LD shaft?

Share Thread Tools Rate Thread
Do you recommend to your students that they start with an LD shaft?
Old
  (#1)
bulldogpool
Registered
bulldogpool has a reputation beyond reputebulldogpool has a reputation beyond reputebulldogpool has a reputation beyond reputebulldogpool has a reputation beyond reputebulldogpool has a reputation beyond reputebulldogpool has a reputation beyond reputebulldogpool has a reputation beyond reputebulldogpool has a reputation beyond reputebulldogpool has a reputation beyond reputebulldogpool has a reputation beyond reputebulldogpool has a reputation beyond repute

vCash: 500

Do you recommend to your students that they start with an LD shaft? - 02-19-2013, 09:50 AM

Disclaimer: I'm an absolute beginner (albeit a talented one according to my instructor and other league players) and my aim is to become great at the game. The cue I use has very little impact on my results, I understand that, but I'd like to hear your opinion about it.

I had a strong preference for LD shafts, based solely on what I've seen and read online. However, according to my instructor, I should buy a good but inexpensive, non-LD shaft cue to learn with, and only after a good while (e.g., months to a couple of years) consider buying a fancier cue with LD shaft if that's what I still want.

I know myself. I'll want an LD shaft eventually. Should I just follow the advice in your opinion, or get a high-end cue with LD shaft now (I can afford it)? Do you recommend to your students that they start with an LD shaft? If not, why?

My concerns are that:
  • I will spend lots of time learning the maple way of doing things. Only to waste time when switching to LD.
  • I will spend $200-300 on a cue now, and $700 or so later. When I could just buy a $700 now and be done with it.